The Federal AIDS Policy Partnership (FAPP)

Established in 2002, the Federal AIDS Policy Partnership (FAPP) is a national coalition of local, regional, and national organizations advocating for progressive federal HIV/AIDS legislation and policy. FAPP members are organizations that devote significant resources in support of federal HIV/AIDS public policy advocacy. FAPP is managed by a twenty-person Convening Group that consists of at-large members and a liaison from each of the affiliated working groups. As of June 2010, there are 126 FAPP partner organizations.

Much of FAPP’s policy and advocacy work is accomplished through seven FAPP-affiliated working groups: AIDS Budget and Appropriations Coalition, Global AIDS Roundtable, HIV Health Care Access Working Group, HIV Housing Working Group, HIV Prevention Action Committee, Research Working Group, and Ryan White Work Group.

To become a partner organization, one must be nominated by two existing FAPP partners. There is no cost to be a member. For your organization to join FAPP, please contact Dave Bark at AIDS Alabama for more information.

FAPP Officers:

Paul Kawata, National Minority AIDS Council, Co-chair
Bill Smith, National Council of STD Directors, Co-chair
Laura Hanen, National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors, Co-chair
Kathie Hiers, Treasurer
Ed Tepporn, Secretary

FAPP Convening Body

At-Large Members
Christopher Brown – Chicago Department of Public Health
Chris Collins – AmFAR – The Foundation for AIDS Research
Guillermo Chacon – Latino Commission on AIDS
Julie Davids – Community HIV/AIDS Mobilization Project
Kathie Hiers – AIDS Alabama
Ernest Hopkins – San Francisco AIDS Foundation
Paul Kawata – National Minority AIDS Council
Naina Khanna – U.S. Positive Women’s Network/WORLD (Women Organized to Respond to Life-threatening Disease)
Matt Lesieur – National Association of People with AIDS and Village Care of New York
Kali Lindsey – Harlem United Community AIDS Center
Bill Smith – Sexuality Information and Education Council of the U.S.
Rona Taylor – National Women and AIDS Collective and Ms. Foundation
Ed Tepporn – Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum

Working Group Liaisons
Donna Crews (AIDS Action) – AIDS Budget and Appropriations Coalition
TBD – Global AIDS Roundtable
Laura Hanen (NASTAD) – HIV Health Care Access Working Group
Nancy Bernstine – HIV Housing Working Group
Carl Schmid (The AIDS Institute) – HIV Prevention Action Committee
Sue Perez (TAG) – Research Working Group
Bill McColl (AIDS Action) – Ryan White Work Group

Be the first to start a conversation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: